Sidney Memorial Public Library

8 River Street Sidney, NY 13838

By

SMPL Technology Librarian Receives NYLA Award

Congrats to our Technology Librarian Ben Lainhart! He is the New York Library Association’s 2013 recipient of the SMART Fellow Award. This award, which is given based on the applicant’s professional activities in his place of employment and future potential in the area, covers the cost of the annual NYLA Conference. The conference will be held in Niagara Falls, NY from September 25 – 28th where Ben will receive the award and give a presentation on libraries and technology.

By

Minecraft in the Library

axeWho?

Tweens & Teens

When?

Wednesdays from 3 – 5 p.m.

Where?

Sidney Library Public Computing Center

**Use one of our computers to log on to your account and play individually or get on our server and play with your friends.

If you don’t have your own account, we have a few “loaner” accounts you use.**

By

PJ Story Time Returns

Bring your preschoolers for an evening story time on Wednesday, September 18th. They will hear a story and learn a song or finger play.

PJ Story Time will run on the first and third Wednesdays of the month until summer.

By

New Time for Friends Movies

The Friends of the Libraries will be showing a movie on the fourth Sunday of each month at 1:30 p.m.

This month (September 22nd) watch “42”, a biographical film written and directed by Brian Helgeland about the life of baseball player Jackie Robinson.

Watch the trailer below:

By

Music for Munchkins returns tomorrow!

Summer is over and our fall programs are starting up again. Preschoolers can join us tomorrow, Thursday, September 12th, from 10:30 – 11:00 a.m. in the Smart Community Room for Music for Munchkins. We will learn about musical instruments, move to some music, and play with a parachute.

The next Music for Munchkins will be on Tuesday, September 24th from 10:30 – 11:00 a.m.

By

Book Signing Event 9/12/13

Join us in the Smart Community Room on Thursday, September 12th at 6:30 p.m. for readings and a discussion by local authors.Ginnah Howard will talk about her newest novel, Doing Time Outside. Paul Juser of Binghamton will read from his children’s book, Danglehorn, and Conny Home and Gary Ingraham will read selections from publication Paddlewheel.

By

New Handicap Accessible Doors

Last week we had some more of our entrances made handicap accessible. The library now has three handicap entrances – the front and back doors and the back entrance to the Smart Community Room.

DSC_0694

By

Sign up for email notifications today!

Register your email with us to receive:

  • Immediate notification when materials you have on hold are available
  • Reminder emails two days before your materials are due

**This service saves both you and the library time and resources! We promise you will not get any direct or spam email.**

Please see library staff for details.

By

Hawkeye Program

The Sidney Library welcomes Andy Mason of the Delaware-Otsego Audubon Society at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 11th. Mr. Mason will give a presentation on the Franklin Mountain Hawkwatch in Oneonta. The hawkwatch is one of New York’s premier fall site for raptor migration, annually tallying 3000-5000 hawks of 15 different species. The various species of hawks, falcons, and eagles which pass the site will be detailed, including Golden Eagles. The public is invited to attend this free program.

By

Teen Goodreads Book Club

Teens: Join us at 6:30 p.m. on the last Tuesday of the month (September 26th) in the PCC for pizza and a discussion of James Dashner’s The Maze Runner. We will use the computers and iPads to learn about Goodreads so that we can continue the discussion online throughout the month. We will also choose the book for our October meeting.

There are several copies of the book in our YA section. Grab one and get reading!

 

About The Maze Runner:

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series–The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade–a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up–the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.